francis-ford-coppolaFrancis Ford Coppola, director of such classics as “The Godfather” trilogy and “Apocalypse Now,” has won Spain’s Princess of Asturias arts prize for his outstanding contribution to the world of film.

The prize foundation on Wednesday described the 76-year-old Coppola as “an exceptional narrator” who holds a prominent position in the history of cinema. “The figure of Francis Ford Coppola is essential in understanding the transformation and contradictions of the cinema art and industry, to whose growth he has contributed decisively,” the foundation said.

Coppola’s “explorations into power and the horrors and absurdity of war have transcended his artistic work and become collective and universal icons of contemporary imagination and culture,” it. Born in Detroit, Michigan, Coppola was brought up in New York. He has won many film awards, including six Oscars.

The 50,000-euro ($64,330) Spanish award is one of eight Asturias prizes handed out yearly by a foundation named for Crown Princess Leonor. Others categories include social sciences, sports and scientific research.

For the full article: Mail Times



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s