The creative team behind the London Olympic torch has won the prestigious Design of the Year award 2012. The aluminium torch was created by UK design studio, Barber Osgerby. It is perforated with 8,000 holes, each representing one of the torchbearers.

The winner was chosen from 89 entries and was presented at an awards ceremony at London’s Design Museum, which organises the annual event.

The Olympic torch relay will run for 70 days ahead of the London 2012 Olympics. It will journey across the UK, taking in places such as Wells Cathedral, Cardiff Castle, Giant’s Causeway, Forth Rail Bridge, York Minster, Blackpool Tower and Windsor Castle.

Design Museum director Deyan Sudjic said the torch was “a triumph of symbolism and beauty”. He added that it “demonstrates how design can celebrate traditional qualities in a modern manner”.

The fashion award went to Issey Miyake’s 132.5 collection.

Recent RCA graduate Kihyun Kim won the furniture prize for his balsa wood 1.3 Chair.

The 2012 Olympic Torch, along with the other shortlisted designs, is on display at the Design Museum until 4 July.

For the full article: BBC News


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s